Another month gone by; another month of blogs that were lovingly written for everyone and anyone who loves the written word.
There are always those precarious times when I am surrounded by self doubt and question myself whether I should even be writing; whether anyone reads these stories and blogs at all? Whether it brings difference to any one at all, even if it’s just one person, whether someone waits for them? These are the times when I am not at my best and I stay away from penning down anything at all. But these are the times that force me to look at the root of it all. The root of writing is always reading. The love affair begins as soon as one ends reading their first loved book.
I did exactly that! I picked up my favourite book, an old friend, to revisit the reason of it all. You don’t just write to present to the world a small painting of your imagination, but also to satisfy your creative needs.

I picked up a book by one of my favorite author- Jhumpa Lahiri’s ‘The Namesake’. As Gogol rediscovered his roots, his connection with himself, the lost love with his relations and evolved into his own being, I too rediscovered the lost zing. I realized that when I seem to have lost the reason, and perhaps the will, to write, I just need to keep alive the love for the written word. But, ‘The Namesake‘ infected me, more than I had anticipated.

It started a book fever; after completing Namesake I went on to read the dark, sad, twisted ‘Anna Karenina‘ and felt the loss, her despair and the social disparity; followed by mad, fantastical, whimsical, delusional, decadent, to the point of being sacrilegious book, ‘One Hundred Years of Solitude‘; then to one of the best allegorical books on human dichotomy, ‘Lord of the Flies‘; after which came the superb ‘The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time‘.

I need to pause and share something with you all from this wonderful book. I have long held the view that children’s books are actually meant for adults. They can help us “adults” in more ways than any self-help books can possibly do. One of the very many things that the author says, I want to share those that are riveting: Prime numbers are what is left when you have taken all the patterns away. I think prime numbers are like life. They are very logical but you could never work out the rules, even if you spent all your time thinking about them.”

Another gem from the book. There are so many such brilliant observations, written so simply, that it deserves a blog all to itself.

Curious incident lines
I thought I would start and end the marathon by reading my most favourite books; and this indulgence was supposed to end with ‘Pride and Prejudice‘, the book that was the reason and cause of the love affair, but that didn’t happen. The month of July, the month dedicated to reading, had ended with reading of these six beauties, all of which I highly recommend to readers.
August began and I picked up another one of my lovelies, ‘Daddy-Long-Legs‘, a book of hope, effervescence and optimism for me. Just look at what this book has in store and you can see why it is so amazing, so loved!!
© Shivani K | forewordMarch
That finished, I picked up ‘Count of Monte Cristo‘, which I am still reading. I would have gone on, without an iota of urge to write, because list of books is infinite and so is my thirst for reading. I dreaded the fact that I may never write because I will never put down a book, not to mention, every writer’s fear- being unsure if my stories were being read or not, liked or not.

And then I got this-

This out-of-blue, sudden and such a kind gesture left me emotional. This is from a dear friend who reached out and gave me the magic elixir I was unknowingly in need of.

I want to thank you Anchita!! You do not know how much it meant to me and how it helped me!

And I want to thank each one of you- those who read my posts, like my posts, take out time to comment and those who wish well! Thank you so much!

Please keep reading, for it’s for YOU that I write!!!

Till next time..

(back to reading ‘The Count of Monte Cristo’

Go find these brilliant books and read it if possible!
YOu will not be disappointed.

Curious Incident

© Shivani K | forewordMarch

© Shivani K | forewordMarch

Cheers!

