We have all been at the receiving end; we have all said these at least once in our lifetime to someone and most likely continue to do so. Are you wondering what am I talking about? It’s unsolicited advices.

Not all are bad though; in fact, I think that most are helpful if taken and seen in the right light; but, sometimes, it can bug you to no end, especially if it comes from someone who does not know you well enough.

I can enlist a quiver full of these when I try and recollect, ranging from general opinions, judgement about your person, gossips and rumours and so forth. People have told me what to eat, what not to eat, how to think, what to say, how to say, what to wear, what not to wear, to tone down my temperament, to be patient, to exercise diplomacy, to be dishonest if need be, to do this and that.

How can I be myself if I alter the very core of me? Is it ever possible to do that? Should I do that for anyone?  Should I treat myself as a work in progress till it’s time to say goodbye?

When you are at the receiving end of it, what do you do?

I don’t yet have any answers. Do you?

© Shivani | forewordMarch

