You know what? People are essentially good. If you reject this then you have probably been unlucky and that’s really sad. No matter how thick are the layers of frustrations, annoyance, irritated appearances, there’s always a certain kind of niceness, unique to an individual.

A friend once said to me, “Everyone is good. They are just different so you think they aren’t good”. Although I didn’t reject his premise, I took it with a pinch of salt. It has rested in my brain ever since and delivered every time it came to be tested.

I started something new, not long back, and something new usually translates to something different. I met tens of people, all very different from the setup I came from. The reaction I got from them all was as varied as it was colorful. What did not change, was the fact that the essential humanity was there. They all helped if and where they could. A call for support never went unanswered. I realized that all the reservations and apprehensions I had, were my own creations. They had no connect with the reality in any way.

I have now settled in and it’s not as new anymore but the helpful people are still helpful. It has definitely not faded and clearly doesn’t come with an expiration date.

What I am trying to say is this- People are all good. You just need to ask and they will deliver. Don’t be shy.

I was pleasantly surprised. I am sure you will not be disappointed too!

© Shivani | forewordMarch

